Rap Stars and Dance Parties Everywhere!

Posted: November 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

11/15

Paper Route, 3rd and Lindsley, 8 p.m., $10

 

11/16

YelaWolf, Cannery Ballroom, 9 p.m., $24

Space Capone, Mercy Lounge, 9 p.m., $10

 

11/17

Dr. Dog, Marathon Music Works, 8 p.m., $22

 

                Personally, I am ready for this weekend. Thanks to AEG Live, I scored free tickets to the YelaWolf concert this Friday. Also, my current favorite Dr. Dog is playing Saturday night, I won’t be surprised if I end up spending money on that show as well. This weekend I have four “must see shows”. Here they are:

 

11/15

Paper Route- These guys are a local band whom all met in college at Greenville College. In 2006 they released their first album and Paste Magazine recently called them an “artist to watch”. Paper Route is playing 3rd and Lindsley in order to warm up for their upcoming tour with Switchfoot. If I had to compare these guys live show to another band I would say they are similar to a very miniature Coldplay.

 

11/16

YelaWolf- Alright, I need to admit something. I’m not a huge rap fan but something inside me enjoys a good gangster rap. YelaWolf is one of those rappers, and I’m actually going to see this show on Friday. Michael Wayne Atha better known as YelaWolf, is from Gadsen Alabama. Growing up he began to embrace what he calls his “white trashness” and has run with it. YelaWolf is a 20 something Alabama native who isn’t afraid to offend people. If you are to attend this show be ready for a different experience then most shows you attend.

Space Capone- Dance music and crazy lights, this local talent has it all. I have been able to see Space Capone about three times in the past and each show has been great. With more and more exposure on the music scene as time goes on, Space Capone’s live show keeps getting more and more professional. Mercy Lounge is the place and space Capone is the name, you won’t regret seeing this show.

 

11/17

Dr. Dog- Currently the band I listen to most is Dr. Dog. These guys bring so much energy to each song that I can’t help but love them. These Philadelphia natives have been playing together since middle school, and you can hear the experience and teamwork musically. Live I have seen these guys 3 times, and each time has been one of my best live music experiences. On tour to support their newest album “Be the Void”, Dr. Dog is a band that is at the top of their game, and you need to see them live.

 

                So there is this weeks “must see shows”, let me know in this weeks poll which show you would prefer seeing.

Leave a comment